The role of the Southwest Central Regional Solid Waste Management District is to help develop, implement and maintain a comprehensive Solid Waste Management System that is the most environmentally safe and economically sustainable for the District’s member entities.  Each of the member cities/counties take an “individualistic” approach to Solid Waste Management within their respective areas, yet are united as a “team” and function that way in other regards. The member entities are united in the fact that they cooperate as a group to determine the best possible solution for disposal of all Class 1 Solid Waste, because there is no Class 1 Landfill located within District boundaries.

 The Solid Waste Management System in the District is actively functioning in the manner that the legislation that was originally drafted had intended.  The “regional” concept is a departure from the customary approach of cities and counties dealing with Solid Waste Management issues alone.  The District has shown the willingness to approach these issues in a fashion that can be beneficial to the individual members and reap benefits for the collective body as well.  By maintaining communication and regular meetings among the officials of the local member governments and the Solid Waste System managers in the member jurisdictions and by gathering public input from a Citizen’s Advisory Committee, actions and policies of the District will be a reflection of the collaboration on key Solid Waste Management issues

Current Board Members:

Clark County

Troy Tucker, Clark County Judge (SWCRSWMD Board Vice Chairman)
401 Clay St.
Arkadelphia, AR  71923
870-246-5847, (fax) 870-245-3092

Gary Brinkley, Arkadelphia City Manager
700 Clay St.
Arkadelphia, AR  71923
870-246-9864, (fax) 870-246-1813

Larry Thomerson, Mayor of Gurdon
P. O. Box 246
Gurdon, AR  71743
870-353-2515, (fax) 870-353-5200

Garland County

Darryl Mahoney, Garland County Judge (SWCRSWMD Secretary)
501 Ouachita Ave.
Hot Springs, AR  71901
501-622-3600, (fax) 501-622-3799

Bill Burrough, Hot Springs City Manager (SWCRSWMD Board Chairman)
P. O. Box 700
Hot Springs, AR  71902
501-321-6811, (fax) 501-321-6814


Hot Spring County

Dennis Thornton, Hot Spring County Judge
210 Locust St.
Malvern, AR  72104
501-332-2261, (fax) 501-332-2221

Brenda Weldon, Mayor of Malvern
305 Locust St.
Malvern, AR  72104
501-332-3638, (fax) 332-7607


The Southwest Central Regional Solid Waste Management District (SWCRSWMD) was originally created in May of 1989 under the authority of Act 870 of 1989 as one of eight “Districts” in the State of Arkansas.  Act 870 originally named the districts as “Regional Solid Waste Planning Boards”.  Each Board was given specific powers and duties as provided in Act 870.  Some of these duties included preparation of “Regional Solid Waste Needs Assessments” and issuance of “Certificates of Need” to applicants for Solid Waste Disposal Facility permits within their jurisdictions.  Act 752 of 1991 renamed the Solid Waste Planning Districts created by Act 870 as “Regional Solid Waste Management Districts”.  Each district was to be governed by a Regional Solid Waste Management Board.  Act 752 expanded the powers and duties of the districts, as well as allowing the boundaries of the districts to be modified.  Waste tires, composting, recycling and hauler licensing requirements were included in the responsibilities added to the districts as a result of Act 752 of 1991.  The ten counties of the West Central Arkansas Planning and Development District constituted the original West Central Arkansas Regional Solid Waste Planning Board.  The original ten counties merged into other Regional Solid Waste Management Districts or formed single county Districts at various times.  The current boundaries of the SWCRSWMD consist of the three county area of ClarkGarland and Hot Spring counties.


Scroll to Top